Kitab al-Kafi – Vol. 6


Author: Muhammad ibn Ya’qub al-Kulayni

Traslator: Muhammad Sarwar

Kitab al-Kafi – Vol. 6

The book Al-Kāfī (The Sufficient Book) is a Twelver Shīʿī ḥadīth collection compiled by Muhammad ibn Ya‘qūb al-Kulaynī.

It is divided into three sections:

  1. Usūl al-Kāfī, which is concerned with epistemology, theology, history, ethics, supplication, and the Qurʾān,
  2. Furūʿ al-Kāfī, which is concerned with practical and legal issues,
  3. Rawdat (or Rauda) al-Kāfī, which includes miscellaneous traditions, many of which are lengthy letters and speeches transmitted from the Imāms.

In total, al-Kāfī comprises 16,199 narrations.